# MDRAO Annual Meeting

May 24, 2018

# **OTN Teleconferencing**

#### Present:

Mangers and Technicians (voting members)

Denise Bosnjak, Octavio Carvalho, Leah Hryciw, Donna Lawrence, Tony Leite, Deo Macadangdang, Gracitalyn Macadangdang, Tamiza Samji, Cheryl Fedosenko, Brendra Gnanasegaram, Leonara Guioguio, Rohan Jagasar, Stephenie Naugler, Pablo Ramiro, Jocelyn Samson, Dawn Vassell, Candia Anderson, Angela Kitchen, Brenda Myketa, Luanne Sutherland, Corey Edwards, Charlene Hagen, Dianne King, Jodie O'Phee, Tammy Bennardo, Ryan Crozier, Karen Mergaert, Colleen Landers

Associate members (non voting):

Shelley McGee and Michael Lacatus

#### 1.0 Called to Order

The meeting was called to order at 5:00pm by Denise Bosnjak, President of MDRAO. Denise welcomed everyone for attending.

The minutes were recorded by Shelley McGee, MDRAO Administrative Coordinator.

# 2.0 Adoption of Minutes from meeting held on September 21, 2015

The minutes were approved as circulated.

Moved by: Colleen Landers

# 2.1 Adoption of the Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

Moved by: Tony Leite

## 3.0 President's Message, Denise Bosnjak

Report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Dianne King

#### 4.0 Executive Report

# 4.1 Vice President, Tammy Bennardo

Report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Tony Leite

## 4.2 Director of Education, Tammy Bennardo

Report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Brenda Myketa

4.3 Directors of Chapter Development, Tamiza Samji and Beth Fraser

Report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Tony Leite

4.4 Director of Communication, Luanne Sutherland

Report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Brenda Myketa

4.5 Finance, Denise Bosnjak – prepared by Shelley McGee, Administrative Coordinator

The report was approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package and read by Denise Bosnjak to the members. A correction was made to the report stating the proposed budget was for 2018-2019 fiscal year.

Moved by: Colleen Landers

### 5.0 Other Business

5.1 Chapter Reports

DELTA Chapter report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Deo Macadangdang

ETA Chapter report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Michael Lacatus

GAMMA Chapter report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package. It was noted that no chapter executive for the GAMMA chapter was present at the meeting

Moved by: Brenda Myketa

LAMBDA Chapter report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Brenda Myketa

SIGMA Chapter report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Corey Edwards

THETA Chapter report approved as circulated in the Annual Meeting Package.

Moved by: Tamiza Samji

Denise asked if there was anything else for discussion.

At this time Michael Lacatus stated he had four motions to bring forward, He rhymed off the four motions. Shelley McGee, Administrative Coordinator requested that Michael clearly state the motions so they would be recorded correctly in the minutes.

Motion: Executive group should investigate the allegations that Jeffrey Phelps was not given the opportunity to run for the Chapter Representative position and the executive group should report the result of their investigation to the membership in an open letter.

Tony Leite directed a question to Shelley McGee. Tony asked if there was a ballot for Jeffrey Phelps. Shelley explained the situation to the members stating that a member of the THETA chapter was nominated for the position of THETA Chapter Representative. This member had not served the one two-year term on the chapter executive as outlined in a new amendment in the constitution. There was no other candidate at this time. Another nomination was received by Jeffrey Phelps for the THETA Chapter Representative Position and for THETA Chapter Education. Another new amendment states that if a member has served as the President or Past President they cannot run for a positon if someone else runs. There was a nomination received for Educator, so Jeffrey's nomination was not accepted. The office received another nomination for the THETA Chapter Representative. There were two candidates Colleen Landers and Jeffrey Phelps. Simply Voting was used which is an electronic voting program. There were two ballots and the THETA members that were eligible to vote received an email from Simply Voting and voted online. The results of the vote were emailed to the President, Denise Bosnjak from Simply Voting when the voting closed. Shelley explained that the only members from THETA that received the voting email were paid Managers and Technicians. Paid Associate members do not have a vote as well as any student that received a free membership. Shelley also explained that it states in the constitution Honorary Members are associate members unless they pay for their membership. Michael Lacatus is an Honorary Member but did not pay his membership therefore he is an associate member and cannot vote or put forth a motion.

At this time Rohan Jagasar stated he would move the motion and Stephenie Naugler seconded the motion.

**Voting results: For the motion 8 members (ETA Chapter members)** 

Against the motion 14 members (DELTA, SIGMA, and LAMBDA Chapter members)

The motion was defeated.

At this time Rohan Jagasar stated to withdraw the other three motions that were put forward by Michael Lacatus

The other three motions that were put forward were:

**Motion #2** For Colleen Landers to be suspended as the THETA Chapter Representative until the investigation was complete.

**Motion #3** For the executive to create a positon for an Ethic Commissioner to sit on the Provincial Board of Directors

**Motion #4** No members can hold office if there is a relative already on the executive either at the Provincial Level or Chapter Level.

#### 6.0 Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 5:40 pm

Moved by: Tammy Bennardo